Context

In Zanzibar, healthcare services are fully subsidized by the government. As a result of an under-performing economy, healthcare is suffering from a chronic underfunding resulting into an unsatisfactory quality and poor health outcomes. 

As a response, the government is working with several partners to review the health financing strategy and improve quality of care as it strives to achieve Universal Health Coverage (UHC). 

PharmAccess has provided technical assistance for the Zanzibar Government’s 5-years insurance plan to re-design the financing strategy of the current healthcare system and implement a digital model for quality improvement. 

Digital social innovation

The project was working towards three objectives:

1.Provide a digital stepwise quality improvement model (SafeCare Steps), supporting facilities in improving quality care provision, collecting data as well as patient SMS feedback to rationalize planning, resource mobilization and strengthen coordination.

2.Introduce and support the implementation of an open Insurance Management Information System (Open IMIS) to create transparency, identify wastages, enhance efficiency and equitable access to healthcare.

3.Use the data generated from the above activities to support the government to develop its strategic health financing plan, with a focus on UHC.

Achievements

The project supported the Ministry of Health (MoH) to adopt, configure, customize and deploy the Open IMIS system for enrolment of citizens, assess the social-economic status of enrolled households, and capture service utilization data when an enrolled individual visits a connected health facility to seek services. 

PharmAccess introduced and deployed a digital quality improvement model in 64 health facilities from all eleven districts of Zanzibar and supported MoH to align the SafeCare standards with the approved best practices for healthcare service. 

Country
Tanzania
Sector
eHealth
Digital tool
Online platform
Mobile application
Duration
-
Budget
347 357 €

More resources

Projects in the same sector

Contexte

À Zanzibar, les services de santé sont entièrement subventionnés par l’Etat. En raison d’une économie peu performante, les soins de santé souffrent d’un sous-financement chronique qui se traduit par une qualité insatisfaisante et des résultats médiocres en matière de santé.

En réponse à cette situation, le gouvernement travaille avec plusieurs partenaires pour revoir la stratégie de financement de la santé et améliorer la qualité des soins, tout en s’efforçant d’atteindre la couverture santé universelle (CSU).    

PharmAccess a fourni une assistance technique pour le programme de 5 ans du gouvernement de Zanzibar visant à revoir la stratégie de financement du système de santé actuel et à mettre en œuvre un modèle numérique pour l’amélioration de la qualité des soins.

Innovation sociale numérique

Le projet visait trois objectifs :

1)Fournir un système numérique d’amélioration de la qualité des soins par étapes (SafeCare Steps), pour aider les établissements à améliorer la qualité de leur prestation, en collectant des données ainsi que les commentaires des patients par SMS pour rationaliser la planification, l’allocation des ressources et renforcer la coordination.

2)Introduire et soutenir la mise en œuvre d’un système ouvert d’information sur la gestion des assurances (Open IMIS) pour renforcer la transparence, identifier les gaspillages, améliorer l’efficacité et l’accès équitable aux soins de santé.

3)Utiliser les données générées par les activités ci-dessus pour aider le gouvernement à développer son plan stratégique de financement de la santé, en mettant l’accent sur la CSU.

Résultats

Le projet a aidé le ministère de la Santé à adopter, configurer, personnaliser et déployer le système Open IMIS pour l’inscription des citoyen·nes, à évaluer le statut socio-économique des ménages inscrits et à saisir les données d’utilisation des services lorsqu’une personne inscrite se rend dans un établissement de santé connecté pour obtenir des services.

PharmAccess a introduit et déployé un modèle numérique d’amélioration de la qualité dans 64 établissements de santé des onze districts de Zanzibar et a aidé le ministère de la Santé à aligner les normes SafeCare sur les meilleures pratiques approuvées pour les services de santé.

Pays
Tanzanie
Secteur
eSanté
Outil digital
Plateforme en ligne
Application mobile
Durée
-
Budget
347 357 €

More resources

Projets dans le meme secteur