Context

Despite real progress, child mortality in Burkina Faso remains very high due to poor access to health services, especially in rural areas. Community-based health workers (CBHWs), who are supposed to offer initial advice and health care to people living far from health centres, are poorly equipped and their services are often of poor quality.

The authorities have adopted the Integrated Management of Childhood Illness (PCIME) strategy, which is implemented at the community level by CBHWs. They need to be trained and supervised regularly, but due to lack of resources, this is not always the case.

Digital social innovation

The project is supporting the Ministry of Health’s IT services in the development and deployment of two complementary digital applications embedded on the telephones of community-based health workers (CBHWs): a module for managing/receiving text and voice message campaigns and an e-learning module for self-training purposes.

The aim is to set up a continuous training system for the 17.000 CBHWs, by providing 300 key SMS messages to them and the essential knowledge required for their work.

Furthermore, multimedia training content will be produced and distributed through this system.

Achievements

The project’s activities contribute to reaching following results:

  1. Deploy a digital distance learning system for the CBHWs, incorporating content validated by the Ministry of Health;
  2. Familiarise the Ministry of Health’s teams with the tool and train them in order to continue distance learning activities;
  3. Reinforce the knowledge and practices of the CBHWs trained and supported by the digital system.
Country
Burkina Faso
Sector
eHealth
Digital tool
Mass sms
Online platform
Duration
-
Budget
328 265 €

Contexte

Malgré de réelles avancées, la mortalité infanto-juvénile demeure très élevée au Burkina Faso du fait de la faible accessibilité aux services de santé, surtout dans les zones rurales. Les agents de santé à base communautaire (ASBC), censés offrir les premiers conseils et soins de santé aux populations éloignées des centres de santé, sont peu outillés et leurs prestations sont de faible qualité.

Les autorités ont adopté la stratégie de prise en charge intégrée des maladies de l’enfant (PCIME) mise en œuvre au niveau communautaire par les agents de santé à base communautaire. Ceux-ci doivent être formés et supervisés régulièrement mais faute de ressources, ce n’est pas toujours le cas.

Innovation sociale numérique

Le Gret accompagne les services informatiques du ministère de la santé dans le développement et le déploiement de deux applications numériques complémentaires embarquées sur les téléphones des agents de santé à base communautaire (ASBC) : un module de gestion/réception de campagnes de messages texte et voix et un module e-learning à des fins d’autoformation.

Il s’agit ainsi de mettre en place un dispositif de formation continue destiné aux 17 000 ASBC, grâce à l’envoi de 300 messages SMS clés sur le rôle de l’ASBC et sur les connaissances essentielles pour son travail. Des contenus de formation multimédia seront également produits et diffusés par le biais de ce dispositif.

Résultats

Les activités du projet contribuent à la réalisation des résultats suivants :

  1. Un dispositif numérique d’apprentissage à distance des ASBC est déployé intégrant des contenus validés par le ministère de la Santé ;
  2. Les équipes du ministère de la Santé maitrisent le fonctionnement et disposent des moyens techniques pour poursuivre les activités d’apprentissage à distance ;
  3. Les connaissances et pratiques des ASBC formés et accompagnés par le dispositif numérique sont renforcées.
Pays
Burkina Faso
Secteur
eSanté
Outil numérique
Sms en masse
Plateforme en ligne
Durée
-
Budget
328 265 €