Context

In Uganda, 7,000 women and 45,000 newborns die annually due to complications of pregnancy and childbirth. 90% of these deaths are due to 3 delays:

  • Delay in decision to seek care
  • Delay in reaching care due
  • Delay in receiving adequate health care

In certain communities, women often travel long distances to reach a health center. They are forced to deliver in villages without a skilled attendant due to lack of funds for transport or the poor quality of the roads. Therefore, Mama Rescue intends to address the second delay, reducing the time to access quality care.

Digital social innovation

The Mama Rescue Project is a simple automated mobile-phone platform that provides vouchers enabling women to be transported by local motorcycle and taxi drivers to deliver in health centers.

They partner with local drivers who live close by our laboring mothers, creating a rapid response system between village and health centers, as well as between the health center and referral hospital when needed. The system relies on easy to use mobile phone technology that improves communication between drivers, midwives and doctors.

Achievements

Since the beginning of the project, more than 7000 women have been transported to deliver in health centres using the Mama Rescue system. As a result, the percentage of births that take place in health facilities increased from 79.7% to 89% of all births. The time from home to health centre reduced from 1 hour 30 minutes reported at baseline to 15 minutes 15 seconds. 

123 midwives were trained as system users for the Mama Rescue emergency transport component and 666 women have been referred from health centre to district hospital. 

Country
Uganda
Sector
eHealth
Digital tool
Additional service for unstructured data (USSD)
Mobile Money
Duration
-
Budget
350 000 €

More resources

Projects in the same sector

Contexte

En Ouganda, 7,000 femmes et 45,000 nouveau-nés meurent chaque année en raison de complications liées à la grossesse et à l’accouchement. 90% de ces décès sont dus à 3 retards :

  • Un retard dans la décision de rechercher des soins
  • Un retard dans l’accès aux soins
  • Un retard dans l’obtention de soins adéquats

Dans certaines communautés, les femmes parcourent souvent de longues distances pour atteindre un centre de santé. Elles sont obligées d’accoucher dans les villages sans accompagnateur·trice qualifié·e en raison du manque de moyens pour payer leur transport ou de la mauvaise qualité des routes. Par conséquent, Mama Rescue entend de s’attaquer au deuxième retard, en réduisant le temps d’accès aux soins de qualité.

Innovation sociale numérique

Le Mama Rescue Project est une simple plateforme automatisée de téléphonie mobile qui fournit des coupons permettant aux femmes d’être transportées par des chauffeurs de motos et de taxis locaux pour accoucher dans des centres de santé.

Ils s'associent à des chauffeur·ses locaux·les qui vivent à proximité de femmes sur le point d’accoucher, créant ainsi un système de réponse rapide entre le village et les centres de santé, ainsi qu’entre le centre de santé et l’hôpital de référence en cas de besoin. Le système s’appuie sur une technologie de téléphonie mobile facile à utiliser qui améliore la communication entre les chauffeur·ses, les sages-femmes et les médecins.

Résultats

Depuis le début du projet, plus de 7,000 femmes ont été transportées pour accoucher dans des centres de santé grâce au système Mama Rescue. En conséquence, le pourcentage de naissances qui ont lieu dans des centres de santé est passé de 79,7 % à 89 % de l’ensemble des naissances. Le temps entre le domicile et le centre de santé a été réduit de 1 heure 30 minutes à 15 minutes 15 secondes. 123 sages-femmes ont été formées en tant qu’utilisatrices du système pour le transport d’urgence de Mama Rescue et 666 femmes ont été orientées du centre de santé vers l’hôpital de district.

Pays
Ouganda
Secteur
eSanté
Outil digital
Service supplémentaire pour données non structurées (USSD)
Argent mobile
Durée
-
Budget
350 000 €

More resources

Projets dans le meme secteur