Context

The education level among Tanzanian youth is low. Many, especially rural youth do not finish secondary education. Often, practical vocational education (often, if even acquired, through informal apprenticeship), is the only hope for attaining an income and improving their life. However, many disadvantaged youth, especially women and rural youth with low education level are lacking access to vocational education and training (VET), due to high costs and distance to training centre. This shortage is increased by the lack of suitable training material and equipment, as well as the lack of trained staff and reliable updated teaching and learning infrastructure. VETA (Vocational Education and Training Authority), in collaboration with the telecommunication company Airtel, has developed a mobile learning application (VSOMO), which provides theoretical skills through an app, followed by practical training in one of the national VETA training institutes. This innovative solution has the potential to train big numbers of youth, especially in remote areas. Unfortunately, the app has been little used until now, as several factors hinder its potential to be fully tapped. The goal of the project is to address these gaps to make it more attractive and successful.  

Digital social innovation

VSOMO is the first project of its kind in East and Central Africa which facilitates the provision of Vocational Education Training (VET) through a mobile phone platform. The main goal is to accelerate youth employment in Tanzania by utilising interactive e-learning technology to deliver market-demanded vocational skills and increase digital literacy skills. The app offers a theoretical part for free, accessible 95% offline. For users living in remote areas with no access to a smartphone, the digital content can be accessed at a partnering digital hub. If the student successfully passes the exam, he or she can register to join the practical sessions in the nearest VETA centres. The courses will be improved through gamified, personalised and interactive learning content, reducing the amount of text readings to improve the motivation and knowledge transfer, but also increase digital literacy skills by specific tasks.  

Achievements

The project aims to develop gamification elements for at least three courses for increased interactive learning, including one entrepreneurship course. At least 50’000 youth (predominantly in Dodoma and Singida) will be informed about the platform via media (social media, radio, newspapers, etc.) campaigns and 10’000 download the VSOMO application to their phone. Thanks to the app upgrade,  at least 600 youth should successfully finish the digital learning course and practical vocational course. 

Country
Tanzania
Sector
EdTech – Use of education technology to improve quality and continuity of teaching and learning
Digital tool
Mobile Phone Platform
Duration
-
Budget
283 891 €

Contexte

Le degré d'éducation des jeunes tanzaniens et tanzaniennes est faible. Beaucoup, surtout dans les zones rurales, ne terminent pas l'enseignement secondaire. Souvent, l'enseignement professionnel (s'il est acquis, c'est souvent de manière informelle) est le seul espoir d'obtenir un revenu et d'améliorer leurs conditions de vie. Cependant, de nombreux jeunes défavorisés, en particulier les femmes et les jeunes ruraux ayant un bas niveau d'éducation, n'ont pas accès à l'enseignement et à la formation professionnels (EFP). Les coûts élevés et la distance qui les sépare des centres de formation sont les principaux freins. Cette pénurie est aggravée par le manque de matériel de formation adapté, ainsi que par l’insuffisance de personnel formé et d'infrastructures d'enseignement fiables et actualisées. La VETA (Vocational Education and Training Authority), en collaboration avec l’opérateur en téléphonie mobile Airtel, a développé une application d'apprentissage en ligne (VSOMO). Elle permet d'acquérir des compétences d’abord théoriques et puis pratiques dans l'un des instituts de formation nationaux de la VETA. Cette solution innovante a l'avantage de former un grand nombre de jeunes, en particulier dans les zones reculées. Malheureusement, l'application a été peu utilisée jusqu'à présent, plusieurs facteurs empêchent d'exploiter pleinement son potentiel. L'objectif du projet est de combler ces lacunes afin de rendre l'application plus attrayante et plus performante.  

Innovation sociale numérique

VSOMO est le premier projet en Afrique de l'Est et centrale qui facilite l'offre de formation professionnelle par le biais d'une application. L'objectif principal est d'accélérer l'emploi des jeunes en Tanzanie pour fournir des compétences professionnelles demandées par le marché et améliorer les aptitudes numériques. L'application propose gratuitement une partie théorique, disponible à 95 % hors ligne. Pour les utilisateurs et utilisatrices vivant dans des zones reculées et n'ayant pas accès à un smartphone, le contenu numérique peut être consulté dans un centre digital partenaire. Si l'élève réussit l'examen, il peut s'inscrire pour rejoindre les sessions pratiques dans les centres VETA les plus proches. Les cours seront perfectionnés grâce à des contenus d'apprentissage gamifiés, personnalisés et interactifs. La quantité de lectures de texte sera réduite pour améliorer la motivation et le transfert de connaissances, mais aussi augmenter les compétences digitales par des tâches spécifiques.    

Résultats

Le projet vise à développer des éléments de gamification pour au moins trois cours, dont un d’entrepreneuriat. Au minimum 50000 jeunes (principalement à Dodoma et Singida) seront informés de l’existence de la plateforme grâce à des campagnes médiatiques (médias sociaux, radio, journaux, etc.) et 10000 téléchargeront l'application VSOMO sur leur téléphone. Au moins 600 jeunes devraient réussir les cours théoriques et pratiques.

Pays
Tanzanie
Secteur
EdTech – technologies de l’éducation pour améliorer la qualité et la continuité de l’enseignement
Outil numérique
Plateforme de téléphonie mobile
Durée
-
Budget
283 891 €