Context

The University of Rwanda wants to make its digital material on its e-learning platform more interactive.  Uploading only books, PDFs and PPTs discourages students’ active engagement in online courses. Adapted or blended solutions could result in a better inclusion of vulnerable people (girls, people with disability, and refugees). However, teachers and students do not have enough adequate capacities and skills to create and use quality digital content, MOOCs and open learning resources (OERs) and use them in a blended learning mode.  

Digital social innovation

The University of Rwanda has set up a multimedia studio at Rukara Campus to support blended learning in place since it was established in 2013. Several academic staff have been trained to design and create digital content materials. The multimedia studio has become an issue of critical importance to students and academic staff at the University of Rwanda during the current COVID-19 pandemic, when ICT has widely become the primary means to convey learning. The project will equip 6 additional campuses with mini multimedia studios, and support their staff and students to design and produce quality digital content, MOOCs and OERs locally, focusing on Science, Technical, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) content.   

Achievements

The project will first establish mini mobile multimedia systems and related infrastructure (server, internet connectivity), managed by technical/instructional designers, in six campus running STEM academic programme to support expansion and continuity of STEM education through the availability of interactive and inclusive digital content. 90 academic staff teaching in STEM programs will be capacitated in instructional design and online pedagogy to create e-learning material. 600 students selected from STEM Programs will be trained on EdTech solutions and sensitised on the availability of interactive digital contents for their modules. 

Country
Rwanda
Sector
EdTech – Use of education technology to improve quality and continuity of teaching and learning
Digital tool
Online platform
Multimedia Studios
Duration
-
Budget
349 163 €

Contexte

L’Université du Rwanda voudrait rendre les contenus digitaux de sa plateforme d’apprentissage en ligne plus interactifs. Le fait de ne télécharger que des livres, des PDF et des PPT peut décourager la participation active des étudiant.es aux cours en ligne. Des solutions adaptées ou mixtes pourraient favoriser une meilleure inclusion des personnes vulnérables (filles, personnes porteuses d’un handicap et réfugiés). De plus, les enseignant.es et les étudiant.es ne disposent pas de suffisamment de compétences adéquates pour créer et utiliser des contenus digitaux de qualité, des MOOC et de ressources éducatives libres (REL) et les utiliser dans un mode d'apprentissage mixte.  

Innovation sociale numérique

L'Université du Rwanda a mis en place un studio multimédia au Campus de Rukara pour soutenir l'apprentissage mixte, qui existe depuis 2013. Plusieurs membres du personnel académique ont été formés pour concevoir et créer des matériaux de contenu numérique. Le studio multimédia est devenu crucial pour les étudiant.es et le personnel académique de l'Université du Rwanda pendant l’épidémie actuelle de COVID-19. Les TIC sont devenus le principal moyen de transmettre les connaissances. Le projet équipera six campus supplémentaires de mini studios multimédias et aidera le personnel et leurs étudiant.es. Ils pourront concevoir et produire localement des contenus digitaux de qualité, des MOOC et des REL, avec pour sujet les STEM (science, technologie, ingénierie et mathématiques).  

Résultats

Le projet établira d'abord des mini studios multimédias mobiles (ainsi qu’un serveur, une connexion internet), gérés par des concepteurs techniques/instructifs, dans six campus proposant des programmes académiques STEM. L’objectif est de soutenir l'expansion et la continuité de l'enseignement STEM par la mise à disposition de contenus numériques interactifs et inclusifs. 90 membres du personnel académique enseignant dans les programmes STEM seront formés à la pédagogie en ligne pour créer du matériel d'apprentissage digital. 600 étudiant.es sélectionné.es dans les programmes STEM seront formé.es aux solutions EdTech et sensibilisé.es à la disponibilité de contenus numériques interactifs pour leurs modules. 

Pays
Rwanda
Secteur
EdTech – technologies de l’éducation pour améliorer la qualité et la continuité de l’enseignement
Outil numérique
Plateforme en ligne
Studios multimédias
Durée
-
Budget
349 163 €