Context

Recent times have shown that the provision of public services, including higher education, can be severely affected by crises. Whether originating from sanitary or security circumstances, these events can prevent youth - and especially vulnerable youths - from receiving quality higher education. In this sense, the need for (partially) digitalised access to higher education has become increasingly apparent and necessary. 

This project aims to increase the resilience of the higher education system in Niger by working on several areas that are crucial for the sustainable development of such digital education developments: technology, pedagogy, regulation and economy. Through combining efforts at these levels, the project consortium – which includes government stakeholders – aims to build a resilient basis for Niger’s higher education system, protecting it from temporary closures in the face of crises.  

Digital social innovation

In terms of the technology, the project will support the implementation of a digital distance learning platform (LMS or Learning Management System) for all departments of the Abdou Moumouni University (UAM) in Niger, the country’s oldest and largest university. The objective of the project is to provide the necessary conditions to scale-up the use of said LMS to other academic institutions in Niger.  

The platform that will be set up will be common to the whole university, with specific portals for each department, and for each training course. The project’s LMS will allow to provide the necessary conditions for action-based learning.  

The main advantage of this activity-based model is that you can combine activities into sequences and groups, which can help you guide participants through their learning path. In the used LMS, there are many other tools that simplify the creation of learning communities, including blogs, instant messaging, participant lists, etc. 

Achievements

The project aims to achieve the following interlinked results:  

  1. Together will all stakeholders, define the regulatory framework and economic model for hybrid and/or distance learning at national level;  
  2. At university and ministerial level, the project aims to establish a multi-stakeholder techno-pedagogy task force to support and facilitate the digital transition of the UAM’s education; 
  3. Based on these first experiences, the project aims to stimulate the digital transition of higher education throughout Niger. It will do so by carefully documenting, publishing and promoting its lessons learned and good practices.  

 

In numbers:  

  1. 100 university teachers will be trained in the design, scripting and posting of courses on the university’s LMS 
  2. 10 techno-pedagogues will be mobilised in order to facilitate the digitalisation transition of university courses 
Country
Niger
Sector
EdTech – Use of education technology to improve quality and continuity of teaching and learning
Digital tool
Hybrid Learning
Learning Management System
Duration
-
Budget
342 000 €

Contexte

L'actualité récente a montré que la prestation des services publics, y compris l'enseignement supérieur, peut être gravement affectée par les crises. Qu'ils soient d'origine sanitaire ou sécuritaire, ces événements peuvent empêcher les jeunes - et surtout les jeunes vulnérables - de recevoir un enseignement supérieur de qualité. En ce sens, le besoin d'un accès (partiellement) digital à l'enseignement supérieur est devenu de plus en plus évident et nécessaire.

Ce projet vise à augmenter la résilience du système d'enseignement supérieur au Niger en travaillant sur plusieurs domaines qui sont cruciaux pour le développement durable, tel que la technologie, la pédagogie, la réglementation et l'économie. En combinant les efforts à ses niveaux, le consortium du projet - qui inclut les parties prenantes du gouvernement - a pour dessein de construire une base résiliente pour le système d'enseignement supérieur du Niger, le protégeant des fermetures temporaires face aux crises. 

Innovation sociale numérique

En termes de technologie, le projet soutiendra la mise en œuvre d'une plateforme numérique d'apprentissage à distance (système de gestion de l'apprentissage, SGA) pour tous les départements de l'Université Abdou Moumouni (UAM) au Niger, la plus ancienne et la plus grande université du pays. L'objectif du projet est de fournir les modalités nécessaires pour étendre l'utilisation de cette plateforme à d'autres institutions académiques au Niger. 

La plateforme qui sera mise en place sera commune à l'ensemble de l'université, avec des portails spécifiques pour chaque département et pour chaque formation. Le SGA du projet permettra d’offrir les conditions indispensables à l'apprentissage par l'action. 

 Le principal avantage de ce modèle basé sur les activités est que vous pouvez combiner les activités en séquences et en groupes, ce qui peut vous aider à guider les participant.es dans leur parcours d'apprentissage. Dans le SGA utilisé, il existe de nombreux autres outils qui simplifient la création de communautés d'apprentissage, notamment les blogs, la messagerie instantanée, les listes de participant.es, etc.

Résultats

Le projet cherche à atteindre les résultats interdépendants suivants : 

  •  Avec l'ensemble des parties prenantes, définir le cadre réglementaire et le modèle économique de l'enseignement hybride et/ou à distance au niveau national ; 
  • Au niveau universitaire et ministériel, le projet tend à établir un groupe de travail technopédagogique multipartite pour soutenir et faciliter la transition digitale de l'enseignement de l'UAM ;
  • Sur base de ces premières expériences, le projet souhaite stimuler la transition numérique de l'enseignement supérieur dans tout le Niger.  Il le fera en documentant, publiant et promouvant soigneusement les leçons apprises et les bonnes pratiques. 

En chiffres : 

  • 100 enseignant.es universitaires seront formé.es à la conception, la textualisation et la mise en ligne de cours sur le SGA de l'université.
  • 10 technopédagogues seront mobilisés afin de faciliter la transition vers la digitalisation des cours universitaires.
Pays
Niger
Secteur
EdTech – technologies de l’éducation pour améliorer la qualité et la continuité de l’enseignement
Outil numérique
Apprentissage hybride
Système de gestion de l'apprentissage
Durée
-
Budget
342 000 €