Context

To achieve Rwanda’s vision to become a high-income country and transition to a service economy by 2050, digital skills among the population are crucial.

Recently, Rwanda has made progress in increasing access to education. However, challenges remain to improve the quality of education and ensure equity. Although more girls are enrolled in secondary education than boys, they do not choose ICT nor science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) because they believe that these are subjects for boys who outperform them in these disciplines.

Rwanda’s curriculum emphasizes creativity, problem solving and collaboration, but many teachers struggle to develop these competences.

Digital social innovation

135 ICT and STEM teachers of 45 secondary schools in Kayonza district will take part in a blended learning trajectory that will equip them with the digital and coaching competences needed to initiate and facilitate after school Scratch coding clubs for secondary school learners (especially girls) and to integrate Scratch into their lesson plans. This trajectory includes workshops, online exercises, regular meetups, Scratch coding days, hackathons and exposure visits to tech companies. Scratch is a free and open software that is excellent to let learners develop computational thinking and 21st century skills.

Achievements
  1. Development of a Scratch pedagogical guide that is adapted to the Rwandan context, including lesson plans integrating Scratch, coding cards and case study videos.
  2. 135 secondary school ICT and STEM teachers have the competences to facilitate coding clubs and integrate Scratch into their lesson plans. They participate in Scratch Meetups to share experiences and overcome challenges.
  3. 135 after school Scratch coding clubs (with on average 10 learners/club) are running in Kayonza.
Country
Rwanda
Sector
Closing the digital divide through education, training and the world of work
Digital tool
Digital skills
Duration
-
Budget
348 706 €

Rwanda Education Board

Contexte

Pour réaliser la vision du Rwanda de devenir un pays à revenu élevé et de passer à une économie de services d’ici 2050, les compétences numériques de la population sont cruciales. Récemment, le Rwanda a fait des progrès en matière d’accès à l’éducation.

Cependant, il reste des défis à relever pour améliorer la qualité de l’éducation et garantir l’équité. Bien que les filles soient plus nombreuses que les garçons à s’inscrire dans l’enseignement secondaire, elles ne choisissent pas les technologies de l’information et communication (TIC) ni les sciences, la technologie, l’ingénierie et les mathématiques (STIM), car elles estiment qu’il s’agit de matières destinées aux garçons, qui les surpassent dans ces disciplines.

Le programme scolaire du Rwanda met l’accent sur la créativité, la résolution de problèmes et la collaboration, mais de nombreux enseignants peinent à développer ces compétences

Innovation sociale numérique

135 enseignants en TIC et en STIM de 45 écoles secondaires du district de Kayonza participeront à une trajectoire d’apprentissage mixte qui leur permettra d’acquérir les compétences numériques et d’encadrement nécessaires pour lancer et animer des clubs de codage Scratch après l’école pour les élèves du secondaire (en particulier les filles) et pour intégrer Scratch dans leurs cours. Ce parcours comprend des ateliers, des exercices en ligne, des rencontres régulières, des journées de codage Scratch, des hackathons et des visites d’entreprises technologiques. Scratch est un logiciel libre et ouvert qui est excellent pour permettre aux apprenants de développer la pensée computationnelle et les compétences du 21e siècle.

Résultats

Le projet se concentre sur 3 objectifs :

  1. Développement d’un guide pédagogique Scratch adapté au contexte rwandais, comprenant des plans de cours intégrant Scratch, des cartes de codage et des vidéos d’études de cas.
  2. 135 professeurs de TIC et de STIM dans les écoles secondaires ont les compétences pour animer des clubs de codage et intégrer Scratch dans leurs cours. Ils participent à des rencontres Scratch pour partager leurs expériences et améliorer leurs pratiques.
  3. 135 clubs de codage Scratch après l’école (avec en moyenne 10 élèves par club) fonctionnent à Kayonza.
Pays
Rwanda
Secteur
Réduire la fracture numérique par l’éducation, la formation et le monde du travail
Outil numérique
Compétences numériques
Durée
-
Budget
348 706 €

Rwanda Education Board