Implementing organisation Kilimo Trust + Rikolto
Period of implementation 06/2019 – 06/2021
Digital tools Mobile App
Country Tanzania
Sector Agriculture
Budget 350.000 €
Contribution to the SDGs 2, 8, 13

 

What is the project aiming to achieve?

The project aims (i) to strengthen farmers’ rice-related climate change mitigation practices, (ii) to support farmers in their adaptation to climate change and (iii) to sustainably increase smallholder rice farmers’ agricultural productivity and income by scaling-up digital knowledge and information services in combination with the Sustainable Rice Platform standard to smallholder farmers in Iringa region.

Digital component

The digital solution focuses on data collection, analysis, processing and information dissemination. It exists of two main components: the Know Your Plot application and the Spatiotemporal Agriculture Framework.

The Know Your Plot application is a mobile application used for data collection purposes. The Spatiotemporal Agriculture Framework is a web based platform to process and store data, and to disseminate information.

Partenaire de mise en oeuvre Kilimo Trust + Rikolto
Période de mise en oeuvre 06/2019 – 06/2021
Outils numériques App mobile
Pays Tanzanie
Secteur Agriculture
Budget 350.000 €
Contribution aux ODD sdg 2sdg 8sdg 13

 

Quelle est l’ambition du projet ?

Le projet vise (i) à renforcer les pratiques d’atténuation du changement climatique liées à la culture du riz adoptées par les agriculteurs, (ii) à aider ces derniers à s’adapter au changement climatique et (iii) à accroître de manière durable la productivité agricole et les revenus des petits riziculteurs en renforçant, à l’intention des petits agriculteurs de la région d’Iringa, les services d’information et de connaissances numériques en lien avec la norme mondiale définie par la Sustainable Rice Platform.

Volet numérique

La solution numérique se concentre sur la collecte de données, leur analyse et traitement, et la diffusion des informations. Elle se compose de deux éléments principaux : l’application Know Your Plot et le cadre Spatiotemporal Agriculture Framework.

Know Your Plot est une application mobile pour la collecte de données, tandis que le Spatiotemporal Agriculture Framework est une plateforme web permettant de traiter les données, de les stocker et de diffuser les informations.