Context

Climate change projections point towards increasingly devastating heatwaves occurring in Africa in the decades to come. In cities, exposure to extreme heat is exacerbated by the phenomenon of urban heat islands and poor housing conditions, inducing health and other impacts, and affecting vulnerable population groups in particular.

Yet, today, the formulation of effective climate resilience measures is strongly hampered by a lack of suitable and accessible urban climate information. The ambition of u-CLIP is to meet this data need, aiming to support the formulation of adequate resilience measures by policy makers and other stakeholders.

Digital social innovation

The u-CLIP project will implement a digital platform containing detailed urban climate projections and associated sectoral indicators (e.g., number of heatwave days for the health sector, cooling degree days for the energy sector, …) for Niamey.

The platform will be co-designed with representatives from the City of Niamey and other stakeholders, including city quarter councils, youth organisations, urban planning professionals and other sectoral experts. Being openly accessible to anyone, the platform will be equipped with functionalities to explore and analyse the urban climate projections in a comprehensible manner.

Achievements

The main expected outcome is that urban stakeholders, by exploration of the u-CLIP platform’s data and scenarios, will be in a position to take better informed decisions with respect to urban adaptation policy and the development of suitable and effective climate resilience measures. Moreover, u-CLIP will be designed as an instrument to raise awareness and support local authorities in gaining access to international climate funds, thus allowing to actually implement resilience measures.

Country
Niger
Sector
Resilient cities: towards inclusive and sustainable urban development
Digital tool
Online platform
Duration
-
Budget
284 239 €

ACMAD

Contexte

Les projections du changement climatique indiquent des vagues de chaleur de plus en plus dévastatrices en Afrique dans les décennies à venir. Dans les villes, l’exposition à la chaleur extrême est exacerbée par le phénomène des îlots de chaleur urbains et des mauvaises conditions de logement, induisant des impacts sanitaires, et affectant en particulier les groupes de population vulnérables.

Pourtant, aujourd’hui, la formulation de mesures efficaces de résilience climatique est fortement entravée par un manque d’informations climatiques urbaines adaptées et accessibles. L’ambition d’u-CLIP est de répondre à ce besoin de données, visant à soutenir la formulation de mesures de résilience adéquates par les décideurs politiques et d’autres parties prenantes.

Innovation sociale numérique

Le projet u-CLIP mettra en œuvre une plateforme numérique contenant des projections climatiques urbaines détaillées et des indicateurs sectoriels associés (ex: nombre de jours de canicule pour le secteur de la santé, degrés-jours de refroidissement pour le secteur de l’énergie,…) pour Niamey.

La plateforme sera co-conçue avec des représentants de la ville de Niamey et d’autres parties prenantes, y compris des conseils de quartier, des organisations de jeunesse, des professionnels de l’urbanisme et d’autres experts sectoriels. Etant librement accessible à tous, la plateforme sera dotée de fonctionnalités permettant d’explorer et d’analyser les projections climatiques urbaines de manière compréhensible.

Résultats

Le principal résultat attendu est que les acteurs urbains, en explorant les données et les scénarios de la plateforme u-CLIP, seront en mesure de prendre des décisions mieux éclairées en matière de politique d’adaptation urbaine et de développement de mesures de résilience climatique adaptées et efficaces. De plus, u-CLIP sera conçu comme un instrument de sensibilisation et d’accompagnement des autorités locales dans l’accès aux fonds climatiques internationaux, permettant ainsi de mettre en œuvre effectivement des mesures de résilience.

Pays
Niger
Secteur
Villes résilientes : pour un développement urbain inclusif et durable
Outil numérique
Plateforme en ligne
Durée
-
Budget
284 239 €

ACMAD