Context

The main challenge urban planners are facing today is the lack of access to updated data, and insufficient means to extract meaningful information from the available data; mainly due to the cost and inadequate skills. The backbone of this project is to engage different stakeholders (including professionals, local authorities, members of the private sector and the general public) to actively participate in the collection of real time updated spatial and non-spatial data which is reliable for planning purposes, easily accessible and informative.

Two Secondary cities (Musanze and Rubavu) and three satellite cities (Rwamagana, Bugesera and Muhanga) will be equipped with capabilities (skills, equipment and data) to carry out informed situation analysis through the use of the decentralised Spatial Development Framework (SDF) and decision room to enable a resilient, sustainable and integrated urban development. The system is already used at national level by the Ministry of Infrastructure as an implementing tool of the Spatial Development Framework (SDF) but needs decentralising to be more effective. The system makes use of big data, location, multi-criteria evaluation and a citizen participation-based approach to identify potential infrastructural projects and areas of intervention. The decentralisation of the decision room to five regional cities aims to efficiently coordinate, plan and guide decision-making for (public) infrastructures and facilities and to effectively serve their purpose while saving financial resources.

 

Digital social innovation

The decision room (or planning decision support system) is a geoinformation technology-based system which helps various stakeholders (professionals and non-professionals) to participate in spatial planning decision-making processes. It includes hardware and software to work in groups of stakeholders in public administration and civil society on different kinds of spatial planning issues. The decision room system uses maps, models, and 3D visualizations to measure impact. The interactive map serves the beneficiary cities, both for interactive data collection and as a data sharing framework.

Alongside, the project will develop a mobile app and other easy to use technologies such as USSD to collect data from citizens and other key stakeholders through targeted surveys about infrastructure developments and needs to ensure civil society’s participation.

Achievements
  • Understand the local context and capacity needs of the 2 secondary and 3 satellite intervention cities to adapt the tool.
  • Equip the selected cities with the necessary hardware and software, application for data collection and data dashboard.
  • Develop an Urban Dynamic Map at city-level and the framework for data collection in a user-friendly way.
  • Build technical capacities of beneficiaries and users of the different cities to support a take-over after the project closure.
Country
Rwanda
Sector
Resilient cities: towards inclusive and sustainable urban development
Digital tool
Online platform
Mobile application
Unstructured Supplementary Service Data
Duration
-
Budget
295 585 €

Contexte

Le principal défi actuel auquel les urbanistes sont confrontés  est le manque d'accès à des données actualisées, et l'insuffisance des moyens pour extraire des informations significatives des données disponibles, principalement en raison du coût et de compétences inadéquates. L’objectif du projet est d'engager les différentes parties prenantes (professionnels, autorités locales, membres du secteur privé ainsi que le grand public) à participer activement à la collecte de données spatiales et non spatiales fiables actualisées en temps réel, facilement accessibles et informatives à des fins de planification.

Deux villes secondaires (Musanze et Rubavu) et trois villes satellites (Rwamagana, Bugesera et Muhanga) seront renforcées en compétences, équipements et données pour pouvoir effectuer une analyse de situation informée grâce à l'utilisation d’une salle de décision et permettre ainsi un développement urbain plus résilient, durable et intégré. Le système est déjà utilisé au niveau national par le ministère des infrastructures en tant qu'outil de mise en œuvre du cadre de développement spatial, mais il doit être décentralisé pour être plus efficace. Le système utilise le big data, la localisation, l'évaluation multicritères et une approche basée sur la participation des citoyens pour identifier les projets d'infrastructure potentiels et les zones d'intervention. La décentralisation de la salle de décision vers cinq villes régionales vise à coordonner, planifier et orienter efficacement la prise de décision pour les infrastructures et les équipements (publics) tout en économisant des ressources financières.

Innovation sociale numérique

La salle de décision (ou système d'aide à la décision pour la planification) est un système basé sur la technologie de la géoinformation qui aide les différentes parties prenantes (professionnels et non professionnels) à participer aux processus décisionnels en matière d'aménagement du territoire. La salle de décision comprend des équipements et des logiciels facilitant le travail de groupe entre acteurs de l'administration publique et de la société civile sur différents types de questions d'aménagement du territoire. Le système de salle de décision utilise des cartes, des modèles et des visualisations 3D pour mesurer les impacts de la planification. La carte interactive sert aux villes bénéficiaires, à la fois pour la collecte interactive de données et comme outil de partage des données.

Résultats
  • Comprendre le contexte local et les besoins en capacités des 2 villes d'intervention secondaires et 3 satellites pour adapter l'outil.
  • Équipez les villes sélectionnées du matériel et des logiciels nécessaires, d'une application pour la collecte de données et d'un tableau de bord des données.
  • Développer une carte dynamique urbaine au niveau de la ville et le cadre de collecte de données de manière conviviale.
  • Renforcer les capacités techniques des bénéficiaires et utilisateurs des différentes villes pour accompagner une reprise après la clôture du projet.
Pays
Rwanda
Secteur
Villes résilientes : pour un développement urbain inclusif et durable
Outil numérique
Plateforme en ligne
Serveur Vocal Interactif
Service supplémentaire pour données non structurées (USSD)
Durée
-
Budget
295 585 €