Benin aims to more than double its production of cashew nuts by 2021. Digital technology can help ensure that this growth supports biodiversity and improves the resilience of small farmers through the use of climate-smart practices.

Caju Benin

Cashew nuts is the second-largest export crop in Benin. The CajuLab project of TechnoServe aims to allow farmers 
to simultaneously maximise productivity and environmental benefits from cashew crop.
 © TechnoServe

The increase in world demand for cashews has equally led to increased interest in the crop among farmers in Benin. The Beninese government recently set the goal of producing 300,000 tons/year by 2021. To accomplish this, the government forecasts that the cultivated area must increase to 60,000 hectares. Although productivity goals are important, it’s essential to note that if the wrong strategy is adopted by the cashew sector, the growth in production may not generate net environmental benefits and could reduce biodiversity and have a negative impact on marginalised populations. It is therefore essential that stakeholders in the sector develop and implement policies and strategies aimed at ensuring that this increase in production is environmentally sustainable.

Climate-smart agriculture is an effective approach to achieve sustainable farming systems. At the moment little is known about the extent to which Benin’s cashew farmers use climate-smart practices or how the increase in cashew plantations has changed land management in the country in recent years.

Maximising productivity and environmental benefits with CajuLab

The CajuLab project, funded by Wehubit and implemented by TechnoServe, in collaboration with the Agence Territoriale de Développement Agricole and the National Federation of Cashew Producers of Benin (FENAPAB), works with a Beninese drone company and an international algorithm research team to harness emerging technologies like drones and machine learning in order to sustainably increase cashew production.

Sahadatou ATTA KAKAYATCHI
The CajuLab project is welcome in this digital age. I like that it is integrated in the agricultural sector of Benin.
I would like to closely contribute to the project, so that the objectives are effectively reached by taking into account the problems we as farmers face on our farms.”

Alex NOUGBODOHOUE

CajuLab is a relevant project for developing a precise directory of cashew farms.
I think it can help take the Beninese agriculture a step forward in the technological field. 
I hope that, at the end of the project, a reliable database on farmers’ plantations (areas, precise maps, number of trees per plantation) will exist, because currently, it does not.


Drones equipped with advanced imaging technology will be used to carry out the aerial mapping of cashew farms. Based on this mapping, an algorithm automates the classification of cashew trees, the evaluation of the state of health of the plantations, the agricultural practices adopted by the farmers, the state of the soil, etc. This information will improve the targeting of farmers and help determine the content of training modules given to farmers to promote climate-smart farming techniques. The project will facilitate the training of about 10,000 farmers on Climate Smart Agriculture. The training package will be shared with partners, so that it can continue to drive impact after the programme’s close.

Drone Pxbay

© TechnoServe

Collaborating with farmers for a sustainable production

TechnoServe presented the CajuLab project in Parakou (North of Benin) to cashew farmers and partner organisations in the sector, including the Agence Territoriale de Développement Agricole, the National Federation of Cashew Producers of Benin and its branches, and the National Federation of Certified Cashew Nurserymen of Benin. 

As part of the project presentation workshop, a farm was visited. The farm of Sabiwo TABE, presented below, clearly illustrates the merits of the CajuLab project.

Sabiwo Tabe is a cashew farmer in the village of Gounin in Parakou (North Benin) and owns a 3-hectare cashew farm that was planted 15 years ago. When the cashew trees were planted, Mr Tabe did not follow the recommended spacing guidelines, because he had not received training on good agricultural practices. Fifteen years later, he declared that he still does not have the knowledge necessary to take good care of his farm and obtain satisfactory results. As a result, the farm is in poor health (there is a yellowish colour to the plants) and the cashew trees are intermingled and produce less. In addition, Mr Tabe does not know how many cashew trees are on his farm. Speaking of the expected results of the CajuLab project, he says:

"The CajuLab project will allow me to increase my yields and production and will motivate me to take better care of my farm in the future."

08_TNS_8
Mr. Tabe providing information on his cashew farm during a field visit on December 5, 2019. © TechnoServe

The CajuLab project will thus allow many farmers like Mr Tabe to be better targeted, better trained by taking into account their real needs, which will allow them to increase their production sustainably.

The next step of the project is to start aerial drone collection activities in the cashew plots of the targeted farmers. All the activities will be implemented in partnership with the farmers. Exchanging knowledge and ideas with them is key to successfully achieving the results of the project.

Le Bénin a pour ambition d’au minimum doubler sa production d’anacardes d’ici 2021. La technologie numérique peut contribuer à faire en sorte que cette croissance soutienne la biodiversité et améliore la résilience des petit·es agriculteur·rices grâce à l’adoption de pratiques climato-intelligentes.

Caju Benin

La noix de cajou est la deuxième culture d'exportation au Bénin. Le projet CajuLab de TechnoServe vise à permettre aux agriculteurs
de maximiser simultanément la productivité et les avantages environnementaux de la culture de la noix de cajou
. © TechnoServe

L’augmentation de la demande mondiale d’anacardes a également entraîné un intérêt accru pour cette culture chez les agriculteur·rices du Bénin. Le gouvernement béninois a récemment fixé un objectif de production à hauteur de 300.000 tonnes/an d’ici 2021. Pour y parvenir, le gouvernement prévoit de faire passer la surface cultivée à 60.000 hectares. Si la filière anacarde n’adopte pas une stratégie appropriée, cette croissance de la production pourrait ne pas avoir d’avantages environnementaux nets, voire entraîner une perte de biodiversité et un impact négatif sur les populations marginalisées. Il est dès lors vital que les acteurs de cette filière élaborent et mettent en œuvre des politiques et des stratégies visant à garantir la durabilité écologique de cette augmentation de la production.

L’agriculture climato-intelligente constitue une approche efficace pour parvenir à des systèmes agricoles durables. À l’heure actuelle, on ne sait pas vraiment dans quelle mesure les producteur·rices d’anacardes du Bénin adoptent des pratiques climato-intelligentes ou comment l’augmentation des plantations a modifié la gestion foncière du pays ces dernières années.

Maximiser la productivité et les avantages environnementaux avec CajuLab

Le projet CajuLab, financé par Wehubit et mis en œuvre par TechnoServe, en collaboration avec l’Agence Territoriale de Développement Agricole et la Fédération Nationale des Producteurs d’Anacarde du Bénin (FENAPAB), collabore avec une société béninoise de drones et une équipe internationale de recherche en algorithmique pour exploiter des technologies émergentes comme les drones et l’apprentissage automatique dans l’optique d’accroître durablement la production d’anacardes.

Sahadatou ATTA KAKAYATCHI

« Le projet CajuLab est le bienvenu dans cette ère numérique. Je suis heureuse qu’il s’intègre au secteur agricole béninois. Je souhaite contribuer étroitement au projet, afin qu’il atteigne les objectifs, tout en tenant compte des problèmes auxquels nous sommes confronté·es en tant qu’agriculteur·rices dans nos exploitations. »

Alex NOUGBODOHOUE

 

« CajuLab est un projet pertinent pour développer un répertoire précis des plantations d’anacardiers. Je pense qu’il peut contribuer à faire avancer l’agriculture béninoise sur le plan technologique. 
J’espère qu’à la fin du projet, il existera une base de données fiables sur les plantations (zones, cartes précises, nombre d’arbres par plantation), car ce n’est pas le cas actuellement. »

Des drones équipés d’une technologie d’imagerie avancée seront utilisés pour effectuer la cartographie aérienne des plantations d’anacardiers. Un algorithme automatisera ensuite la classification des anacardiers, l’évaluation de l’état des plantations, les pratiques agricoles adoptées par les agriculteur·rices, l’état du sol, etc. Ces informations permettront de mieux cibler les agriculteur·rices et de déterminer le contenu des modules de formation qui leur seront dispensés en vue de promouvoir des techniques agricoles climato-intelligentes. Le projet facilitera la formation de quelque 10.000 agriculteurs et agricultrices à l’agriculture climato-intelligente. Le kit de formation sera partagé avec les partenaires, afin que son impact perdure après la clôture du programme.

Drone Pxbay

© TechnoServe

Collaborer avec les agriculteurs pour une production durable

TechnoServe a présenté le projet CajuLab à Parakou (nord du Bénin) aux producteur·rices d’anacardes et aux organisations partenaires de la filière, notamment l’Agence Territoriale de Développement Agricole, la Fédération Nationale des Producteurs d’Anacarde du Bénin et ses filiales, et la Fédération Nationale des Pépiniéristes d’Anacardiers Certifiés du Bénin.

L’atelier de présentation du projet a inclus une visite d’une exploitation pour illustrer clairement les avantages du projet CajuLab

Producteur d’anacardes dans le village de Gounin à Parakou (nord du Bénin), Sabiwo Tabe possède une exploitation de 3 hectares d’anacardiers plantés il y a 15 ans. Au moment de la plantation des anacardiers, M. Tabe n’a pas respecté les directives d’espacement recommandé, car il n’avait pas eu de formation sur les bonnes pratiques agricoles. Quinze ans plus tard, il affirme ne toujours pas disposer des connaissances nécessaires pour prendre bien soin de sa plantation et obtenir des résultats satisfaisants. En conséquence, la plantation est en mauvaise santé (les plantes sont de couleur jaunâtre) et les anacardiers sont entremêlés et produisent moins. En outre, il ne sait pas combien d’anacardiers compte sa plantation. Concernant les résultats escomptés du projet CajuLab, il déclare :

« Le projet CajuLab me permettra d’augmenter mes rendements et ma production, et me motivera à mieux prendre soin de ma plantation à l’avenir. »

08_TNS_8


M. TABE fournit des informations sur sa plantation d'anacardiers lors d'une visite sur le terrain le 5 décembre 2019.
© TechnoServe

Le projet CajuLab permettra ainsi de mieux cibler et former bon nombre d’agriculteur·rices, comme Sabiwo, en tenant compte de leurs besoins réels, afin qu’il·elles puissent accroître durablement leur production.

La prochaine étape du projet consiste à lancer des activités de collecte par drones sur les parcelles d’anacardiers des agriculteur·rices ciblé·es. Toutes les activités se feront en partenariat avec les agriculteur·rices dont les connaissances et les idées ont été identifiées comme éléments clés pour l'atteinte des résultats.