Understanding the needs of pastoralists

Owing to climate change, pastoralists – livestock keepers of the Sahel, who commonly practise transhumance – increasingly struggle finding water and pasture land for their cattle. Such lack of resources jeopardises their herds and leads to conflicts between livestock keepers and farmers.

In the Sahel, where arable land is in short supply, livestock keepers are forced at certain times of the year to move around to search for food for their animals or to protect them against the elements, conflicts or sickness. Such journeys or transhumance are part of their way of life, a traditional strategy that has enhanced resilience, particularly in the face of climate variations.

To roll out the ‘Digital information system for transhumance relief in the central Sahel region‘ (SIT Sahel LAFIA) Belgium’s Vétérinaires Sans Frontières teamed up with Spain’s Action against Hunger. This project (LAFIA meaning peace in the local languages) covers parts of Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger and will support some 500,000 pastoralists and agro-pastoralists.

testimony photo 1

 

Every year, the pastoralists move their herds following well-defined itineraries; meanwhile, they interact and engage in trade with local communities. Pasture land and in a broader sense, the environment, benefit from transhumance. The animals’ manure fertilises the land and thus fosters plant growth. The herds’ movements also contribute to the dissemination of seeds in the areas travelled, while the pastoralists keep a check on plant growth by pruning trees and bushes to feed their herds. Correct pruning is actually among the good practices which SIT Sahel LAFIA aims to vulgarise with local communities.

The initiative, which is financed through the Wehubit programme of Enabel, the Belgian development agency, aims to improve access to information helping pastoralists to map transhumance itineraries, to find water and pasture for their herds and to improve mobility by means of  New Information and Communication Technologies.

Information is disseminated via community radios and a voice server (a digital solution). The latter is an interactive voice response platform with which livestock keepers can interact via their mobile phones with a voice menu in different local languages. For instance, to access information on the state of pasture, the user presses 1; to find water, she presses 2…). The information is updated on the server every two weeks. The collected data also benefit political decision makers, who have easy access to information with a view of preventing and/or responding to conflicts over access and control of natural resources.

testimony photo 2

 

One of the first steps of the project consists of identifying training needs with the representatives of the livestock keepers. Below, two community leaders explain the daily challenges that they face and how they could address them in future. 55-year-old Bandé Amidou is a livestock keeper and father of four. He is the leader of the livestock keepers in his community of Rugga, in the Fada N’Gourma district. The other leader, from the Yamba district, is Diallo Bilgui. He is 58 years of age and has 6 children.

testimony photo 3testimony photo 4

 

What does your leadership function consist of in your community of livestock keepers?

‘We listen to the livestock keepers in the community, particularly with regards to their needs. We make sure that day-to-day issues of livestock keepers are addressed. And the needs are many! We also advocate joint land management and management of pastoral land in particular with the local authorities.’

Which difficulties do the livestock keepers of your region currently encounter?

‘There are many issues such as the illegal occupation of pastoral land and transhumance corridors, conflicts in hosting countries, conflicts between livestock keepers and farmers, illegal taxes, general insecurity, etc.’

What do the livestock keepers need to keep their herds in good health?

‘Livestock keepers like us need information to better organise but we have no access to such information. We sometimes spend much money on obtaining such information to properly prepare for transhumance. ‘

In what respect do you believe will this initiative provide solutions?

‘We have always had to face difficulties, but there are more and more issues to address. Farmers have colonised all remaining space and we, livestock keepers, cannot access pasture land anymore. The insecurity situation further complicates access to pasture land. All corridors are obstructed and the journey becomes harder with every transhumance. With the information that is made available to us we can now avoid certain of these issues. ‘

What is your dream as a pastoralist?

‘We dream of pasture land and corridors that are arranged well, secure and in particular respected by all and that the pastoral infrastructure is also available to us. We also aspire at being recognised as an actor of development throughout transhumance and also across borders and to be received well and protected by the local authorities. We want to conclude and emphasise that pastoralism contributes to the local economy as well as to natural environmental regeneration. ‘

Comprendre les besoins des éleveurs transhumants

A cause du réchauffement climatique, les éleveurs transhumants du Sahel trouvent de plus en plus difficilement l’eau et les pâturages nécessaires à leurs animaux. Ce manque de ressources met en péril la survie de leur troupeau et génère des conflits entre les éleveurs et les agriculteurs.

Dans le contexte sahélien où les terres arables sont rares, les éleveurs sont contraints à certaines périodes de l’année à se déplacer pour subvenir aux besoins de leurs animaux et les protéger contre les intempéries, les conflits et les maladies. Ces déplacements représentent leur mode de vie, une stratégie adoptée pour renforcer leur résilience face aux aléas climatiques notamment.

Dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre du projet « SIT Sahel LAFIA » ou « Système d’Information digitalisé pour une transhumance apaisée au Sahel central », Vétérinaires Sans Frontières - Belgique s’est associé à Action contre la Faim - Espagne. Le projet (LAFIA signifiant la paix en langue locale) couvre trois pays (le Burkina Faso, le Mali et le Niger) et appuiera au total environ 500.000 pasteurs et agro-pasteurs.

Testimony photo 1

 

Chaque année, les éleveurs se déplacent selon des itinéraires bien définis et interagissent économiquement avec les localités traversées en effectuant des transactions. Ces déplacements d’animaux sont aussi bénéfiques pour l’environnement, en régulant le pâturage. Les animaux fertilisent les terres avec leurs défections, ce qui favorise un bon développement des végétaux. Les troupeaux contribuent également au transport et à l’ensemencement des graines au niveau des espaces parcourus. Les éleveurs régulent le développement des arbres et arbustes avec les coupes (élagage) qu’ils effectuent pour nourrir les animaux. Les bonnes coupes font d’ailleurs partie des bonnes pratiques que le projet « SIT Sahel LAFIA » compte vulgariser au sein des communautés des éleveurs.

Financé par Enabel, l’Agence belge de développement à travers son programme Wehubit, le projet vise à améliorer l’accès aux informations pouvant aider les éleveurs à établir leurs itinéraires de transhumance, à trouver de l’eau et du pâturage pour leurs animaux, et ainsi faciliter leur mobilité par l’utilisation des NTIC.

Les informations sont diffusées via les radios communautaires et un serveur vocal (une solution numérique). En d’autres termes, il s’agit d’une plateforme vocale interactive numérique avec laquelle les éleveurs peuvent interagir via leurs téléphones portables grâce à un menu vocal disponible en différentes langues locales. Par  exemple, pour avoir des informations sur l’état du pâturage, l’utilisateur appuie sur 1; pour trouver des points d’eau, il appuie sur 2, … Les informations sont actualisées sur le serveur toutes les deux semaines. Les données collectées profitent également aux décideurs politiques, afin de faciliter la prévention et/ou la réponse aux conflits liés à l’accès et au contrôle des ressources naturelles.

Testimony photo 2

 

Une des premières étapes du projet consistait à identifier avec les représentants d’éleveurs, les besoins en informations. Deux leaders de communautés d’éleveurs expliquent ci-après les difficultés qu’ils doivent surmonter au quotidien et la manière dont ils peuvent y faire face à l’avenir. Mr Bandé Amidou,  55 ans, est lui-même éleveur et père de 4 enfants. Il est le leader des éleveurs dans sa communauté Rugga, dans la commune de Fada N’Gourma. Egalement leader mais au sein de la commune de Yamba, Mr. Diallo Bilgui a 58 ans et 6 enfants.

 Testimony photo 3Testimony photo 4

 

En quoi consiste votre fonction de leader au sein de votre communauté d’éleveurs ?

« Nous sommes à l’écoute des éleveurs de nos communautés, notamment pour qu’ils nous fassent part de leurs besoins. Nous nous occupons de régler les problèmes quotidiens des éleveurs, et les sollicitations sont nombreuses! Nous plaidons aussi auprès des autorités locales pour une gestion concertée des espaces et des aménagements pastoraux.»

Quelles sont les difficultés rencontrées par les éleveurs de votre région à l’heure actuelle ?

« Il y en a beaucoup comme l’occupation illégale des espaces pastoraux et des pistes à bétail, les conflits dans les pays d’accueil, les conflits entre les éleveurs et les agriculteurs, les taxes illégales, l’insécurité, … »

De quoi les éleveurs ont-ils besoin pour garder leurs troupeaux en bonne santé ?

« Nous, les éleveurs, avons besoin d’informations pour mieux nous organiser mais nous n’y avons généralement pas accès. Et devons parfois dépenser beaucoup d’argent pour les obtenir afin de préparer la transhumance. »

En quoi pensez-vous que ce projet permettra d’apporter des solutions ?

« Nous rencontrons ces difficultés depuis toujours, mais cela devient de plus en plus récurrent. Les agriculteurs ont colonisé tous les espaces et nous, les éleveurs, nous n’avons plus accès aux pâturages. L’insécurité complique aussi l’accès aux zones de pâturage. Toutes les pistes à bétail sont obstruées et à chaque période de transhumance, la mobilité devient plus difficile. Grâce aux informations mises à notre disposition par le projet, nous pourrons éviter certains de ces problèmes. »

Quel est votre rêve en tant qu’éleveur transhumant ?

« Nous rêvons que les espaces pastoraux et les pistes à bétail soient bien aménagés, sécurisés et surtout respectés par tous, et que des infrastructures pastorales soient également mises à notre disposition. Nous aspirons aussi à ce que, tout au long de la transhumance, et même au-delà des frontières, le transhumant soit vu comme un acteur de développement et soit bien accueilli et protégé par les autorités locales. Nous pouvons conclure que les transhumants contribuent d’une part à l’économie locale mais également à la régénération naturelle de l’environnement. »