Know your digital rights: Hayat’s story – once bullied online, now an agent for change

A high rate of cybercrimes and gender-based violence online has been reported in Gaza. According to a study by the Arab Center for Social Media Advancement, Palestine is witnessing one of the fastest growing rates of gender-based violence online in the world. Social norms experienced offline are being reinforced in online spaces. The study indicates that one third of young Palestinian women are subjected to violence on social networks, and one in four women were forced to close their social media accounts[1].

 

Being slandered online

Hayat, a 25-year-old woman from Khan Younis in Gaza, experienced this online gender-based violence firsthand. She recently received her bachelor’s degree in nursing hoping to be employed. But in Gaza, in order to find a job as a nurse, you first need to succeed in a yearly nursing exam run by the de facto authority.

 She wanted one of her teachers to assess her final grades before the end of the semester to increase her eligibility to apply for the exam. “I asked the teacher for more than a month, but he didn’t respond”. Hayat resorted to the Dean of the Faculty to solve her issue. It’s when the Dean tried to hold the teacher accountable that Hayat’s problems started. 

 oxfam testimony picture 2

Hayat walking in her neighbourhood in Khan Younis Governorate (Photo taken by Mohammed Abu Daqqa, Women’s Affairs Technical Committee)

“I remember entering the university one day. I was astonished to find that everyone was pointing a finger at me, and people refused to talk to me”. Later, Hayat learnt that her teacher had used a Facebook university group page to accuse her of not attending his classes and of talking to him in an indecent and disrespectful manner.

“I was so frustrated and almost collapsed, it was humiliating. Being a young woman in Gaza means there is a double layer of oppression. I remember being very cautious, so my parents wouldn’t find out”. Hayat wanted to file a case with the police against the teacher who slandered her, but was told she would never be granted her Bachelor’s Degree certificate if she did so.

 oxfam testimony picture 3

Hayat is participating in a youth’s debate around gender-based violence arranged by Women’s Affairs Technical Committee (Photo taken by the media unit in Women’s Affairs Technical Committee)

 

Women speak up

Hayat’s case is no exception. To tackle this issue, Oxfam Solidarity in collaboration with Palestinian organisations Taghyeer, Women, Media and Development, and the Women’s Affairs Technical Committee applied for a grant from Wehubit to educate young women and men on the use of ICT, digital security, cyber-gender-based violence and mitigation strategies.

“When I saw the announcement for this project, I was thrilled: it is a dream come true. I remember seeing the application on the Women’s Affairs Technical Committee Facebook page. I didn’t think twice before applying and genuinely hoped to be selected,” says Hayat.

 Oxfam testimony picture 4

Hayat is participating in Women’s Affairs Technical Committee activities around gender-based violence in Gaza (Photo taken by the media unit in Women’s Affairs Technical Committee)

“In the project inception meeting, we got introduced to many important concepts around digital rights. We will also be taking training on online gender-based violence and cyber security”.

One very important thing that caught Hayat’s attention was the online platform this project made available for youth to raise their voices. “I really value the Mapping Her” application as this app maps the conditions of Palestinian women and provides us with an opportunity to express ourselves in innovative ways by having a dialogue with decision makers”.

 Oxfam testimony picture 5                                
Hayat and some youth participants from the youth groups in Gaza (Photo taken by the media unit in Women’s Affairs Technical Committee)

As concepts surrounding digital rights have recently been introduced in Palestine, this project is one of the first of its kind in Palestine providing spaces and platforms to challenge gender norms in the digital sphere. 

“I was subjected to online bullying, but I discovered my power as an agent for change. I hope that through this project I, together with other Palestinian Youth, will be able to change the lives of youth suffering but forced to remain silent”.

 

oxfam testimony picture 1

Hayat and some youth participants from the youth groups in Gaza (Photo taken by Women’s Affairs Technical Committee)

 


[1] https://7amleh.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/03/Hashtag_Palestine_English_digital_pages.pdf

Connaissez vos droits numériques : L’histoire de Hayat – autrefois intimidée en ligne, aujourd’hui agente de changement.

Un taux élevé de cybercrimes et de violences sexistes en ligne a été signalé à Gaza. Selon une étude du Centre arabe pour l’avancement des médias sociaux, la Palestine connaît l’un des taux de violence sexiste en ligne les plus élevés au monde. Les normes sociales existant hors ligne sont renforcées dans les espaces en ligne. Cette étude indique qu’un tiers des jeunes Palestiniennes subit des violences sur les réseaux sociaux et qu’une femme sur quatre a été contrainte de clôturer ses comptes sur les médias sociaux[1].

 

Diffamation en ligne

Hayat, une jeune femme de 25 ans originaire de Khan Younis à Gaza, a appris ce type de violence sexiste à ses dépens. Fraichement diplômée en tant que bachelière en sciences infirmières, elle espérait décrocher un emploi. Toutefois, à Gaza, pour trouver un emploi d’infirmière, il faut au préalable réussir un examen annuel d’infirmière organisé par l’autorité de facto.

Aussi, Hayat souhaitait qu’un de ses professeurs évalue ses notes finales avant la fin du semestre afin d’accroître son admissibilité à l’examen. « Je l’ai demandé au professeur pendant plus d’un mois, mais il ne m’a pas répondu ». Hayat s’est alors tournée vers le Doyen de la faculté pour résoudre son problème. Mais lorsque le Doyen s’est efforcé de faire assumer sa responsabilité au professeur, les problèmes de Hayat ont véritablement commencé. 

oxfam testimony picture 2

Hayat déambulant dans son quartier dans le gouvernorat de Khan Younis (Photo prise par Mohammed Abu Daqqa, Women’s Affairs Technical Committee)

« Je me souviens d’être arrivée à l’université un jour et d’avoir été surprise de voir que tout le monde me pointait du doigt et que les gens refusaient de me parler ». Par la suite, Hayat a appris que son professeur avait utilisé une page de groupe Facebook de l’université pour l’accuser de ne pas assister à ses cours et de s’adresser à lui de manière indécente et irrespectueuse.

« J’étais tellement frustrée que j’ai failli m’effondrer ; c’était humiliant. Être une jeune femme à Gaza signifie endurer une double couche d’oppression. Je me souviens d’avoir été très prudente, afin que mes parents ne le découvrent pas. » Hayat voulait porter plainte auprès de la police contre le professeur qui l’avait diffamée, mais on lui a dit qu’elle n’obtiendrait jamais son diplôme de bachelière si elle le faisait.

 oxfam testimony picture 3

Hayat participe à un débat de jeunes sur la violence sexiste, organisé par le Women’s Affairs Technical Committee (Photo prise par l’Unité Médias du Women’s Affairs Technical Committee)

 

Les femmes font entendre leur voix

Le cas de Hayat est loin d’être une exception. Afin de s’attaquer à ce problème, Oxfam Solidarité, en collaboration avec les organisations palestiniennes Taghyeer, Women, Media and Development et le Women’s Affairs Technical Committee, a demandé un subside à Wehubit dans l’optique de former les jeunes femmes et les jeunes hommes à l’utilisation des TIC, à la sécurité numérique, à la cyberviolence sexiste et aux stratégies d’atténuation.

« Quand j’ai vu l’annonce de ce projet, j’ai été ravie : c’est un rêve qui est devenu réalité. Je me souviens d’avoir vu l’annonce sur la page Facebook du Women’s Affairs Technical Committee. Je n’y ai pas réfléchi à deux fois avant de postuler et j’espérais sincèrement être sélectionnée », nous confie Hayat.

 

 Oxfam testimony picture 4

Hayat participe aux activités du Women’s Affairs Technical Committee axées sur la violence sexiste à Gaza (Photo prise par l’Unité Médias du Women’s Affairs Technical Committee)

« Lors de la réunion de lancement du projet, nous avons pris connaissance de nombreux concepts importants concernant les droits numériques. Nous suivrons également une formation sur la violence sexiste en ligne et la cybersécurité. »

Un aspect très important qui a attiré l’attention de Hayat était la plateforme en ligne que ce projet a mise à la disposition des jeunes pour faire entendre leur voix. « J’apprécie vraiment l’application “Mapping Her”, qui cartographie la situation des femmes palestiniennes et nous donne l’opportunité de nous exprimer de façon innovante en dialoguant avec les décideurs. »

 Oxfam testimony picture 5                                
Hayat et quelques jeunes participant·e·s des groupes de jeunes à Gaza (Photo prise par l’Unité Médias du Women’s Affairs Technical Committee)

Les concepts relatifs aux droits numériques n’ayant été que récemment introduits en Palestine, ce projet est l’un des premiers du genre dans ce pays à fournir des espaces et des plateformes pour relever le défi des normes de genre dans la sphère numérique. 

« J’étais victime de harcèlement en ligne, mais j’ai découvert mon pouvoir en tant qu’agente de changement. J’espère qu’à travers ce projet, je pourrai, avec d’autres jeunes Palestinien·ne·s, changer la vie des jeunes qui souffrent, mais qui sont contraint·e·s de garder le silence. »

 

oxfam testimony picture 1

Hayat et quelques jeunes participant·e·s des groupes de jeunes à Gaza (Photo prise par le Women’s Affairs Technical Committee)

 

 

[1] https://7amleh.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/03/Hashtag_Palestine_English_digital_pages.pdf