In Uganda – as in many developing countries – education quality frameworks are well-defined, but implementation remains a big challenge. In Uganda, only 3 out of 10 children who start the first year of primary, reach the final year (P7). At completion of their school career, more than half of the children do not have the basic proficiencies in numeracy and literacy.

Schools in Uganda opened recently, after more than 80 weeks of closure. Millions of children have been left without a safe place to learn and develop. Marginalised groups pay the heaviest price. Due to teen pregnancy, early marriage and child labour, many of them now do not return to school.

EDU-Q Up! answers to these challenges by strengthening stakeholder engagement for improved education quality, making schools resilient and sustainable. Also, the project pairs school improvement with quality assurance and teacher professional development, via CPTCs as hubs for knowledge and support. The project primarily targets head teachers, to facilitate a process of continuous improvement with the stakeholders by using the EDU Q-card digital assessment tool.

Head teachers are empowered to create the conditions and deliver support for their teachers, so that they can provide quality education. The teachers work in close collaboration with the parents, the community and the quality assurance officers.

Would you like to know more?

Download the project factsheet ➡️

Theme
EdTech – Use of education technology to improve quality and continuity of teaching and learning
Resource type
Factsheet
Challenge
Digital skills
Training
Youth
Country
Uganda
Year
2022
Project

Voir la E-library

EDU-Q Up !

En Ouganda - comme dans de nombreux pays en développement - les cadres de qualité de l’éducation sont bien définis, mais leur mise en œuvre reste un grand défi. En Ouganda, seuls 3 enfants sur 10 qui commencent la première année du primaire atteignent la dernière année (P7). À la fin de leur scolarité, plus de la moitié des enfants ne possèdent pas les compétences de base en calcul et en lecture.

Les écoles ougandaises ont rouvert récemment, après plus de 80 semaines de fermeture. Des millions d’enfants n’ont plus d’endroit sûr pour apprendre et se développer. Les groupes marginalisés paient le plus lourd tribut. En raison des grossesses précoces, des mariages précoces et du travail des enfants, nombre d’entre eux ne retournent plus à l’école.

EDU-Q Up ! répond à ces défis en renforçant l’engagement des parties prenantes pour améliorer la qualité de l’éducation, en rendant les écoles résilientes et durables. En outre, le projet associe l’amélioration de l’école à l’assurance qualité et au développement professionnel des enseignant·es, par l’intermédiaire des CIPC qui servent de centres de connaissances et de soutien. Le projet vise principalement les directeur·trices d’école, afin de faciliter un processus d’amélioration continue avec les parties prenantes en utilisant l’outil d’évaluation numérique EDU Q-card.

Les chefs d’établissement sont habilités à créer les conditions et à apporter un soutien à leurs enseignant·es, afin que ceux-ci puissent dispenser une éducation de qualité. Les enseignant·es travaillent en étroite collaboration avec les parents, la communauté et les responsables de l’assurance qualité.

Vous voulez en savoir plus ?

Téléchargez la fiche projet ➡️

Thème
EdTech – technologies de l’éducation pour améliorer la qualité et la continuité de l’enseignement
Type de ressource
Fiche projet
Défi
Compétences numériques
Formation
Jeunesse
Pays
Ouganda
Year
2022
Projet